This attractive low lying island is reached by car ferry across the Cuan Sound from the Isle of Seil. The short 200 yard crossing can be exciting with the tide flowing at speeds of up to 7 knots.
Luing was once well known for its slate with 150 men working in the quarries and producing 700,000 slates a year. Both the Iona Abbey and the University of Glasgow were roofed with slate from Luing. The industry ceased with the closure of the last quarry in 1965.
Today the island is perhaps best known for the Luing breed of cattle that were developed on the island by the Cadzow brothers by breeding a first cross Shorthorn/Highland heifer with a Shorthorn bull. These reddish brown cattle are very hardy and have been exported all over the world.
Cullipool, on the west coast, with its whitewashed former slate quarriers’ cottages, is the main settlement on the island. Towards the south is the ruined chapel of Kilchattan. Its old graveyard has some fascinating head stones including those of the eccentric Covenanter Alexander Campbell. He died in 1829 having carved four separate headstones for himself and by some accounts having dug his own grave.
Find out more on the Isle of Luing from the Isle of Luing website